Skip to content
Amanda Ross-Ho at The 2008 California Biennial

2008 California Biennial Newport Beach and Orange Lounge, South Coast Plaza The 2008 California Biennial continues the Orange County Museum of Art's four-decade long history of presenting new developments in California art. This year's biennial is guest-curated by Lauri Firstenberg, founder and director/curator of LAXART in Los Angeles. Firstenberg's approach to the 2008 California Biennial is expansive—the exhibition includes works by more than 50 artists and, for the first time, incorporates off-site projects with collaborating venues from Tijuana to Northern California. The exhibition is presented at both the Newport Beach and South Coast Plaza locations. The 2008 California Biennial is organized by the Orange County Museum of Art with guest curator Lauri Firstenberg. A catalog with essays by the curator and contributors accompanies the exhibition. The 2008 California Biennial is presented by Deutsche Bank. Major support is provided by Michael Krichman and Carmen Cuenca. Significant funding is provided by the Beall Family Foundation and Toby Lewis with additional support from Mr. and Mrs. Stephen T. Fry, Dr. James B. Pick and Dr. Rosalyn M. Laudati, Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert Edward LeVasseur, Jr, the Nimoy Foundation, and the Peter Norton Family Foundation. Special thanks to the Peter Norton Family Foundation on behalf of Eileen Harris Norton and to Eve Steele and Peter Gelles for additional project support. Off-site projects are produced by LAXART Public Art Initiatives with ForYourArt in conjunction with numerous generous partners including Art on the Outside, City of West Hollywood Commission, High Desert Test Sites, and the Cultural Affairs Division, Culver City. Special thanks to Eugenio Lopez for additional off-site project support. The official media sponsors of the Orange County Museum of Art are the Orange County Register and Coast magazine. Additional media support provided by ForYourArt. CB08 Artist Roster: Micheal Arcega Edgar Arceneaux The Backroom Kelly Barrie Justin Beal Walead Beshty Andrea Bowers Jedediah Caesar Sarah Cain Bruce Conner Einar and Jamex de la Torre Felipe Dulzaides Sam Durant ESL (Esthetics as a Second Language) Morgan Fisher Piero Golia Gronk Karl Haendel Mark Hagen Skylar Haskard Patrick "Pato" Hebert High Desert Test Sites Evan Holloway Margaret Honda Journal of Aesthetics and Protest Jordan Kantor Mary Kelly Tony Labat D'nell Larson Elad Lassry William Leavitt Matt Lucero Shana Lutker Daniel Joseph Martinez Rodney McMillian Julio Cesar Morales My Barbarian Eamon Ore-Giron Raymond Pettibon Yvonne Rainer Marcos Ramirez ERRE Marco Rios Amanda Ross Ho Aaron Sandnes Anna Sew Hoy Jim Skuldt Kara Tanaka Joel Tauber Ruben Ortiz Torres Erika Vogt Mary Weatherford Lauren Woods Brenna Youngblood